Vegan Challenge

There is a very mysterious force in the world called will power. This is something I have very little experience with. That’s not to say in the past that I haven’t worked for something that I really wanted and succeeded at getting it, but for the most part I attempt and promptly give up. This has been very true of health changes. I love food. I love greasy, cheesy, salty, no nutritional value foods. I won’t crucify myself too much, I really do like fruits and veggies and try to eat whole foods as much as possible, but there is nothing like buffalo wings, pepperoni pizza and Mexican food in my mind. I would say that my dietary efforts are one step forward, two steps back.

I was Youtubing one morning and ended up watching an old episode of Oprah, yes I know, and the topic was about food systems. She challenged her staff to go vegan for a week and I really found the whole episode very informative. It got me thinking, I really don’t know anything about what it would be like to try veganism. I know that basically vegan diets don’t eat, or wear, any animal products. Like many omnivores, I have never attempted this because I love animal products. Dairy and meat have been the building blocks of my daily diet for 28 years and I never challenged that principle, I never had a reason to. I had an “a-ha” moment thanks to Oprah herself. I’m going to take that challenge and attempt a vegan diet for one week.

I know I’m not the first person to come up with this idea, and probably not the first person to blog about it, but my main goal with this adventure is the challenge itself. Can I really pull this off and do something consistently for a whole week? I think the main take-away for me was that I rarely stick with beneficial habits that would help me in the future. I can’t think far enough into the future which could also be an important reason why I give up easily. Claiming I’ll change something for a month is too daunting and after about a week I give up. With that said, I’m going to sign out for now and make my third trip this weekend to the grocery store with the best produce in town.

I’ll be tracking my progress and exploring this even further this week. Check back to see if I can gain some will power and keep my sanity at the same time.

Leave a Reply

